Skip to main content

Kensington Fire Board Appoints New Board Member

At their special meeting of March 28, 2024 the Kensington Fire Protection District Board of Directors interviewed two candidates and unanimously selected Rick Artis to fill a vacancy created when Director Nagle resigned his seat effective January 31, 2024. This brings the board to full strength of five members. Artis will serve for the unexpired term left by Nagle, which ends in December, 2024. The other candidate was Tom Cunniff who, after two KFPD special board meetings of interviews with deadlocked votes, withdrew his application at the end of board deliberations stating Mr. Artis is a good candidate with obvious support and Cunniff wants to see the district move on and succeed. The board then voted unanimously in favor of Mr. Artis

Dean (Rick) Artis has been a Kensington resident 28 years and a member of the Kensington Ad-Hoc Committee on Governance and Operations Structure, having chaired the Consolidation sub-committee. He will take the Oath of Office for the board seat at the board's April 17, 2024 meeting.  

The other members of the board of directors are: 

Daniel Levine, President (2022-2026)
Danielle Madugo, Vice President (2023-2024)
Julie Stein, Director (2022-2026)
Jim Watt, Secretary (2022-2026)

For more information, see the district's website at

Join our mailing list